Product and service reviews are conducted independently by our editorial team, but we sometimes make money when you click on links. Learn more.

CBCI: Business Continuity Institute's Certification of the BCI

Best Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Certifications in 2018
By , Mary Kyle

It's hard not to see the Business Continuity Institute (BCI) as a competitor to DRI, and it's plain that these two organizations share some friendly rivalry. Where DRI is headquartered in New York and active in more than 50 countries across North America, Latin America, Asia, Australia, the Middle East and North Africa, BCI is based in the U.K. and most active in Europe, Asia, Africa and the Middle East.

BCI supports more than 8,500 members in 100 countries around the world, and it works with more than 3,000 organizations in public and private sectors, plus the so-called "third sector" — that part of an economy or society that's composed of non-governmental and non-profit organizations or associations, such as charities, volunteer and community groups, cooperatives, NGOs and so forth. Founded in 1994, BCI is younger than DRI.

The primary certification from BCI is the Certificate of the Business Continuity Institute, also known as CBCI. A single exam is required, which is delivered at the end of the recommended training course. Training is available in person or online, and exams that are not administered as a part of a classroom course may be taken online. Candidates should review the exam registration page for complete technical details before attempting the exam.

BCI offers follow-on levels of membership in the organization at associate (AMBCI, Associate Member of BCI), member (MBCI, full Member of BCI), Associate Fellow (AFBCI) and Fellow (FBCI) levels. The Institute also sponsors a Business Continuity Management (BCI) Diploma, a 30-week academic certificate program in business continuity based on the organization's codified body of knowledge, supported by general background and specialist college courses

For those pursuing a BC certification outside North America, particularly in Europe or countries belonging to the British Commonwealth, the CBCI is a compelling credential. Likewise, those who wish to focus on BC at the undergraduate level would be well-advised to investigate the organization's BCI Diploma. Though somewhat expensive, the credential is well-recognized and highly regarded.

The CBCI credential is valid for three years. As long as a credential holder has moved to a more advanced level of BCI membership, no exams are required. However, if a credential holder has not advanced to a higher membership level, they must take the then-current CBCI exam to maintain that credential. In addition, credential holders are required to pay an annual membership fee.

CBCI Facts & Figures

Certification NameCertification of the BCI (CBCI)
Prerequisites & Required Courses
Recommended training incudes:
Instructor-led classroom or instructor-led online CBCI training; prices vary by geography and training provider but candidates can expect to pay approximately $2,750 to $3,295; course length is 32 hours; exam may be taken at end of course or scheduled for later time; classroom courses may not be available in all geographies.
Candidates may also complete eight-hour Introduction to Business Continuity eLearning course (approximately $750).
Number of Exams
One (120 multiple choice questions, two hours)
Exam may be taken at the completion of any training course or completed online.
Cost per Exam
£396.00 incl. VAT (approximately $500)
Self-Study Materials
In addition to formal training, BCI offers numerous resources including the Good Practice Guidelines 2018 (available from the BCI bookstore; free for members; USA download version is £40.00 incl. VAT (approximately $53), BC24 Online Incident Simulation Game, a knowledge bank, webinars, mock exams and more.