Product and service reviews are conducted independently by our editorial team, but we sometimes make money when you click on links. Learn more.

EnCe: EnCase Certified Examiner

Best Digital Forensics Certifications 2018

Guidance Software, acquired by OpenText in 2017, is a leader in the forensics tools and services arena. Its well-known and highly used EnCase Forensic software helps professionals acquire data from many different types of devices, complete disk-level examinations and produce reports of findings. The company also sells software for remote investigations (EnCase Endpoint Investigator), eDiscovery, risk management, mobile investigations and endpoint security.

The company's certification program includes the Certified Forensic Security Responder (CFSR), EnCase Certified eDiscovery Practitioner (EnCEP) and the EnCase Certified Examiner (EnCe). Available to public and private sector professionals, the EnCE recognizes an individual's proficiency using EnCase Forensic software and mastery of computer investigation methodology, including evidence collection, preservation, file verification, file signatures and hashing, first responder activities and much more.

To achieve EnCe certification, candidates must show proof of a minimum of 64 hours of authorized computer forensic training or 12 months of qualified work experience, complete an application, and then successfully complete a two-phase exam that includes a written portion and a practical.

EnCE certifications are valid for three years from the date obtained. Recertification requires one of the following:

  • 32 credit hours of continuing education in computer forensics or incident response
  • A computer forensics or incident-response related certification
  • Attendance at an Enfuse conference (at least 10 sessions)

EnCE Facts & Figures

Certification NameEnCase Certified Examiner (EnCe)
Prerequisites & Required CoursesRequired:
  • 64 hours of authorized computer forensic training or 12 months of work experience in computer forensics
    • Training options through Guidance Software:
      • EnCE Prep Course (DF310), classroom, virtual classroom or on demand $2,195
      • EnCE Certification Bootcamp (aimed at new digital investigators) includes DF120 (Foundations in Digital Forensics), DF210 (Building an Investigation) and DF310; $5,085 for the bundle
  • Completion of the EnCE application
Number of ExamsOne two-phase exam:
  • Phase I written exam (180 questions, two hours, minimum passing score is 80 percent), delivered via ExamBuilder
  • Phase II practical exam (18 questions, 60 days, minimum passing score is 85 percent)
Passing the Phase I exam earns an electronic license to complete the Phase II exam.
Cost per Exam$200 total, or $300 international
$75 renewal fee
Self-Study MaterialsStudy materials provided in Guidance Software courses. Check Amazon for availability of current and practice exams.