Product and service reviews are conducted independently by our editorial team, but we sometimes make money when you click on links. Learn more.

CSFA: CyberSecurity Forensic Analyst

Best Computer Forensics Certifications For 2017

The CyberSecurity Institute in Monroe, Washington provides computer forensic services aimed at law firms, businesses and individuals, and administers a small but well-respected certification program. General information security and forensics courses are available through the CyberSecurity Academy, as well as other organizations.

The Institute administers a single certification — the CyberSecurity Forensic Analyst, or CSFA — designed for security professionals with at least 2 years of experience performing digital forensic analysis on computers and devices running the Windows operating system and creating investigative reports. This includes creating forensically sound images of media, analyzing file systems, performing keyword searches, dealing with live memory and stored data, and data recovery measures.

Candidates must also thoroughly understand the rules of evidence, how to maintain a chain of custody and various legal processes and documents related to forensic investigations (affidavits, declarations, subpoenas and so on).

Once certification is achieved, it must be maintained attending digital forensics or information security training courses (80 class hours, minimum) and conducting four or more digital forensic examinations. These requirements must be met every 2 years to keep the CSFA current.

CSFA Facts & Figures

Certification NameCyberSecurity Forensic Analyst (CSFA)
Prerequisites & Required CoursesRecommended:
Minimum of two years of digital forensics experience and one of the following certifications:
  • AccessData Certified Examiner (ACE)
  • Certified Forensic Computer Examiner (CFCE)
  • Certified Computer Examiner (CCE)
  • Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI)
  • EnCase Certified Examiner (EnCe)
  • GIAC Certified Forensics Analyst (GCFA)
  • FBI criminal background check
  • A completed CSFA Certification Exam Application and Agreement
Number of ExamsOne exam (offered three times per year in Washington state, three days to complete, overall passing score of 85):
  • Written component (50 multiple-choice questions, majority are hands-on; comprises 30 percent of total score)
  • Practical component (comprises 70 percent of total score)
Cost per Exam$750
Self-Study MaterialsNo specific self-study materials available; CyberSecurity Institute allows candidates to bring reference material they would "normally use when conducting a forensic analysis" to practical portion of exam.
CyberSecurity Academy offers training courses for candidates with no forensic experience.