Product and service reviews are conducted independently by our editorial team, but we sometimes make money when you click on links. Learn more.

ITIL Foundation

Best Help Desk Certifications For 2017

ITIL, formerly an acronym for Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is an industry-accepted framework for managing IT service delivery. ITIL defines a service lifecycle model for processes and activities that take place during the design, development, delivery and support of IT services. AXELOS, a UK company, develops best practices, maintains ITIL and administers the ITIL certification program.

The ITIL Foundation is the entry-level certification in the ITIL "scheme," which also includes Practitioner, Intermediate, Expert and Master certifications. At the Foundation level, an individual understands the key concepts, terminology, roles and core processes involved throughout the ITIL service lifecycle. Although the ITIL Foundation training and examination syllabus include a service desk component specifically, the entire ITIL Foundation certification lends itself to the help desk industry.

Candidates can take a three-day training course through an Accredited Training Organization (ATO) or Accredited Trainer and then take the exam at the end of the course, or self-study for the exam and take it at an ITIL Examination Institute.

ITIL Foundation Facts & Figures

Certification NameITIL Foundation
Prerequisites/Required CoursesNone

Training is highly recommended; search for a training provider here.

Classroom and instructor-led online, $1,599; online self-paced, $400. Prices may vary.
Number of ExamsOne exam: ITIL Foundation (40 multiple-choice questions, 60 minutes)
Cost per Exam$223
Self-Study MaterialsTraining and examination syllabus, and sample tests (called "sample papers"), available on certification web page. The Passing your ITIL Foundation Exam, 3rd edition, is available through AXELOS ($27).
Other study guides and certification kits available from Amazon.