Product and service reviews are conducted independently by our editorial team, but we sometimes make money when you click on links. Learn more.

IT Certification Ladders: Your Road Atlas To Career Success

IT Certification Ladders: Your Road Atlas To Career Success
Your IT Certification Road Atlas

In the physical world, a road atlas is a collection of maps assembled for the benefit of those who must navigate the highways and byways by driving across and over them. When it comes to IT certification, a great many programs often feature their own so-called "road maps," which describe the features on a certification landscape (the credentials available from one certification sponsor or another) and how they are all arranged and fit together.

Quite often, this also means depicting how one or more lower-level certifications can lead to another higher-level one. Overall, these relationships usually reside within a certification hierarchy or a ladder with three or more such levels to climb before reaching a pinnacle or apex certification of some kind or another.

To help current and prospective IT professionals define their career paths, we have outlined over 25 road maps for a number of IT certification programs—both vendor-specific and vendor-neutral—including Microsoft, Cisco, HPE, IBM, CompTIA, PMI, Check Point, SNIA, EC Council and more. 

But before diving into the individual certification guides, take a look at how many of these certification programs are structured so that you can get a better understanding of what to expect once you start planning your IT career path.

MORE: IT Career Paths And Certification Guides
MORE: Best IT Certifications
MORE: Best IT Training
MORE: All IT Careers Content

See more See less