Product and service reviews are conducted independently by our editorial team, but we sometimes make money when you click on links. Learn more.

ITIL Expert

Best IT Governance Certifications 2018
By , Mary Kyle

ITIL (formerly known as the Information Technology Infrastructure Library) is a well-defined set of best practices that organizations use to design, implement, manage and maintain IT service projects. ITIL's primary focus is service management, which aligns IT projects and services with the business goals of an organization. ITIL also meets quality standards set by ISO/IEC 20000, so an organization that consistently and closely follows ITIL practices is quite likely to offer high-quality products and/or services.

ITIL was acquired by Axelos in 2013, which focuses on global best practices and standards. Axelos also offers certifications for Resilia, Prince2 (2009 and 2017), Prince2 Agile, P30, MSP, M_o_R, P3M3, MoP and MoV. Axelos manages updates to the ITIL framework, but this organization also accredits ITIL exam institutes and licenses third-party organizations to use ITIL's intellectual property.

The ITIL certification tier offers several certifications to help employers find or groom employees with the right skills and knowledge to implement ITIL processes:

  • ITIL Foundation
  • ITIL Practitioner
  • ITIL Intermediate
  • ITIL Expert
  • ITIL Master

The ITIL Expert certification recognizes well-rounded and balanced knowledge across all areas of the ITIL service lifecycle.

The Foundation, Practitioner and Intermediate tiers require certification exams. To achieve the ITIL Expert credential, candidates must hold the ITIL Foundation certificate or a Bridge qualification equivalent, acquire at least 17 credits per the ITIL Credit System and pass the Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) exam to amass a total of 22 credits.

Achieving the ITIL Expert level is a prerequisite for the ITIL Master Qualification, the pinnacle ITIL credential. The ITIL Master is also in high demand, primarily in larger enterprises, government agencies and so forth.

ITIL Expert Facts & Figures

Certification NameITIL Expert
Prerequisites & Required CoursesITIL Foundation certificate or Bridge certificate equivalent
  • Minimum of 22 credits from ITIL qualification or complementary certs: 17 credits from any selection of Foundation and Intermediate modules or complementary qualifications
  • 5 credits from the Managing Across the Lifecycle module
Number of ExamsManaging Across the Lifecycle (MALC) exam (multiple choice, 120 minutes)
Cost per ExamPrices vary depending on training provider. Candidates can expect to pay approximately $3,095 for online and between $3,095 and $4,995 for classroom MALC training and exam.
Self-Study MaterialsMultiple resources are available from the official ITIL site, including blogs, whitepapers, case studies, mobile apps, skills assessment tools, videos, sample papers, webinars, course syllabus and more. Some training providers offer self-paced training courses for as little as $225.