Product and service reviews are conducted independently by our editorial team, but we sometimes make money when you click on links. Learn more.

SNIA SNCP: SNIA Storage Networking Certification Program

Best Storage Certifications 2018

The Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA) is a nonprofit organization incorporated in 1997 and comprised of members from various storage vendors and service providers, as well as individuals. The association develops and promotes storage solution specifications and standards, and offers education and certification for storage and information management professionals.

The Storage Networking Certification Program (SNCP) offers several vendor-neutral certifications:

  • SNIA Certified Storage Professional (SCSP)
  • SNIA Certified Storage Engineer (SCSE)
  • SNIA Certified Storage Architect (SCSA)
  • SNIA Certified Storage Networking Expert (SCSN-E)
  • SNIA Qualified Storage Sales Professional (SQSSP)

Each certification requires candidates to pass the S10-110 Foundations exam or hold a current CompTIA Storage+ Powered by SNIA certification (exam no longer offered), which earns the Professional (SCSP) credential. From there, the Engineer (SCSE) and Architect (SCSA) certifications require one additional exam, and the Networking Expert (SCSN-E) requires all of them.

SNIA certifications are good for three years from the date of certification. After that, a certification holder must take the most current exam to maintain the credential.

SNIA SCSE Facts & Figures

Certification Name
Storage Networking Certification Program (SNCP)
Prerequisites & Required Courses
Training is recommended but not required.
Number of Exams
SCSP: One exam; Storage Networking Foundations S10-110 (65 questions, 90 minutes, passing score of 66 percent)
SCSE: Two exams; Foundations S10-110 and Storage Networking Management and Administration S10–210 (60 questions, 90 minutes, passing score of 67 percent)
SCSA: Two exams; Foundations S10-110 and Storage Networking Assessment Planning and Design S10–310 (60 questions, 90 minutes, passing score of 67 percent)
SCSN-E: Two exams; Foundations S10-110, S10–210, S10–310 and two SNIA Certification Partner product credentials
Cost per Exam
$220. Exam administered by Kryterion.
Self-Study Materials
SNIA provides links to study reference materials, practice exams and training on each certification's web page. Study materials are also available through training partners.